To cease mailings concerning this campaign go here
or write to us at: 881 W State St. Suite 140-538, Pleasant Grove, UT 84062

Tuesday, August 16, 2011

NASCAR's fifth first-time winner

Marcos Ambrose became the latest first-time winner on the NASCAR Sprint Cup circuit, capturing Monday's rain-delayed race at Watkins Glen International. Ambrose piloted his No. 9 Ford past Brad Keselowski on the penultimate lap and held on from there to capture the Heluva Good! Sour Cream Dips at The Glen. Keselowski was second, Kyle Busch third, Martin Truex Jr. fourth and Joey Logano fifth.

· RESULTS: Watkins Glen finishing order

"It's just a dream come true," the Richard Petty Motorsports driver said from victory lane, the fifth first-timer to visit there this season — most in NASCAR's premier series since 2002.

Other first-time winners this year: Trevor Bayne (Daytona 500), Regan Smith (Southern 500 at Darlington), David Ragan (Coke Zero 400 at Daytona) and Paul Menard (Brickyard 400 at Indianapolis).

Busch held the lead on the final restart but was passed by Keselowski in Turn 1. Ambrose then moved by Keselowski on the 2.45-mile road course's inner loop and drove away to win by a little less than half-a-second.

The last restart resulted from a crash by Paul Menard, after Ambrose reduced a 2.5-second lead held by Busch to two car-lengths.

A pair of last-lap crashes, primarily involving David Reutimann, Ragan and Tony Stewart, brought out a yellow caution flag, ending the race with Ambrose in the lead.


Post a Comment

type your comments here...